‘The Bark’ Publishes Extensive Q&A with ‘Little Boy Blue’ Author

Posted on August 20, 2012

0


The September/October issue of “The Bark” is on newsstands now. It includes an extensive Q&A with “Little Boy Blue” author Kim Kavin, who talks about everything from lobbyist push-back against spay/neuter rates to the value of adopting a rescue dog from a foster home to the idea that the dog-rescue movement needs to change the depressing tone of its TV commercials.

Here’s one of our favorite parts of the interview:

THE BARK: What do you hope to achieve with your book?

LITTLE BOY BLUE AUTHOR KIM KAVIN: I hope that people will actually enjoy reading the book. That’s been one of the problems for rescue as a movement, in my opinion; the message of what these dogs face can be so depressing that people tune out. I intentionally wrote Little Boy Blue in a non-depressing way. A few parts are shocking, yes, but it’s not like those television commercials with the sad music and the sad faces that make you want to change the channel. One of the early reviewers said Little Boy Blue read like a mystery unfolding. My editor, after reading the first draft, said, “I laughed, I cried and I wanted to punch some people in the face.” I hope I have written a book that people will read all the way to the end, and that moves them to take action—not because they feel sorry for dogs like Blue, but because they learn how important it is to stand up and champion them.

