Longtime Rescue Advocate Calls “Little Boy Blue” Most Insightful Book of Its Kind

Posted on June 15, 2012

0


Readers who received advance copies of “Little Boy Blue” last week at Book Expo America are now beginning to send their comments. Today, we received the following e-mail from Julie Ogden, who has more than two decades’ worth of experience in dog rescue. She is an organizer of DogFest, an organizer of Pets & Heroes, and an active member of The Last Resort Rescue. Julie has fostered more than 1,000 dogs in her rescue work.

Here is what Julie has to say about “Little Boy Blue”:

“Your book ‘Little Boy Blue’ got into my hands because one of the industry experts at your New York expo considered me the expert when it came to dog rescue. I am her daughter’s sixth-grade teacher but am far better known as the ‘dog lady.’ She wanted me to give her an opinion on the book. I wanted to let you know that it is the most insightful, on-target book I have ever read on the subject. You have hit on every issue currently existing within our underworld of rescue from sadistic shelters and bad rescues to overwhelmed workers who are sickened by what they do and the rescues who rise above and try to do the right thing.

“My husband and I have been pulling animals both locally in New Jersey and from the South for over 20 years and in that time have fostered over 1,000 dogs.  I have tried hard to share with people all the knowledge I have gained, and with your book coming out, I now have a powerful tool in my hand. I am going to recommend it to everyone!”

